Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02-01-02 - 2:37 a.m.

Of all the ghastly, hideous songs to have stuck in my head, "Young Girl" had to be the one for tonight. Ironically, I was just out with Leif.

To get her mind of our mother's sudden illness, Kellie decided to participate in one of the finest traditions in the history of modern public education: the senior prank. Kellie called and invited me because she wanted to use my SUV. I don't let anyone else drive it, normally. Leif was with me already, so he had the privelege of riding shotgun.

Because they still have several months to go before graduation and still fear the wrath of their parents, the group (consisting of Kellie, Chris, Haley, Jared, Jeff, and Julia) chose methods of mayhem that would not be permanently damaging to the campus. Substituting spray paint for sidewalk chalk, they scrawled "SENIORS 2002" in enormous lettering at every major entrance on school grounds, including several places in both the staff and student parking lots. Then they took $65 worth of green yarn (green being their class color) and connected every one of the many trees on campus in a bizarre, intricate spider's web design. Using duct tape, they sealed off the gates and wrote "SENIORS 2002" on the cement. Then they hoisted a homemade flag reading, you guessed it, "SENIORS 2002" up the school's flagpole. Lastly, green glitter was sprinkled over that disgusting green ketchup in random designs around the doors.

But it wasn't over yet. They still had hundreds of feet of green yarn, four rolls of green Saran Wrap, and six twelve-packs of toilet paper. (That's 72 rolls, mind you.)

Leif suggested they "get the juniors' cars." Thus ensued a mad search for any recognizable vehicles. We Saran Wrapped several people's cars shut, strewing them with toilet paper and writing various good-will messages on their windshields with glass paint.

As we were finishing up the last junior's car, a student I happen to know by the name of Damien, we noticed alternating red, white, and blue lights coming up quickly behind us. The high schoolers in the car flipped out, so I floored it and told them to "shut the fuck up." The cops trailed us for a few miles, eventually turning on their siren. I was quite enjoying myself, knowing that, if I had to, I could off-road my way to temporary safety. Leif convinced me it was a better idea to just pull over and explain things, though. So I slowed down, braked, stopped along an unpainted curb, and lit a cigarette, waiting for the cop.

Fortunately, the guys were pretty damn cool. I told them what was going on, we shared senior prank stories (they'd done the same stuff when they were my age, hahaha) and warned me that smoking was a nasty habit. They asked for my license and wrote down my name and information "in case there are any permanent damages and we need to contact you."

So then we got Krispy Kreme donuts from the 24-hour drive-thru and went home. Leif's spending the night here. But we're not spending it together. I'm just too lazy to take his ass home. Plus he's sort of warm and I'm freezing to death.

As for the email(s) and guestbook signing(s) and IM(s) I have received, I will addres(s) them at a later time. I'm not in a good mood, nor am I upset. I'm just tired. So I'm going to sleep.

"Better ruuuuuuuun, giiiiiiiirl
You're much tooo yooooooooooung, giiiiiiiiiiiirllll..."

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!