Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02-03-02 - 11:46 p.m.

New diary look: yay or nay? (BTW, your opinion isn't worth beans.)

I had this awesome idea for an awesome music video a few minutes ago. Very few people have heard [of] the song it's for, though, so I will share it with you all.

Go HERE to download "I Run Away" by Britney Spears. It's, in my opinion, a cross between "Substitute For Love" by Madonna and the HBO Live In Las Vegas rendition of "...Baby One More Time," with her dancing in the "rain." God what an encore that was! Anyway, here are the lyrics:

You took your love away too fast
Left no chance to say look back
Now I know the truth, it makes it easier
Maybe when time goes by I'll understand

Let's pretend that I've moved on
Then I'll tell myself that life goes on without you
Open my eyes, look deep inside
I run away, I run away, I run away

You threw it all away, so blind
Pushed me far from you, in your life
Now I know the tears won't lead to loneliness
Maybe when time goes by, you'll understand

Let's pretend that I've moved on
Then I'll tell myself that life goes on without you
Open my eyes, look deep inside
I run away, I run away, I run away...

Now for my idea:

As the song starts, (during the intro violin solo) the camera slowly zooms in (aerial shot) on a house in suburbia. Inside, Britney and TheGuy (not Justin Timberlake�I hate that guy!) are arguing (silently, of course, so we can hear the song). We can see that he's made up his mind to leave, and she's so angry, she wants him gone, too. So he leaves, and she has a sudden change of heart. She runs after him down the hall, but he slams the door behind him. She stops, leaning against the back of the door, hanging her head, her hair shrouding her face from the camera's view. Slowly, she looks up and we see a single tear on her cheek.

Cut to a performance scene (chorus): Britney's in a black/dark blue room, dressed in a long-sleeved dark blue/black top over matching pants, and she's singing to the camera. She isn't dancing anything choreographed, just moving to the song, gesturing and whatnot. There is no furniture in the room. To the right is a window, but it's dark and there is nothing outside. At the very back left of the room, there is a door, slightly camoflaged in the rest of the scenery. On the last "I run away," it's a close-up of Britney at the window, from outside the room (everything else is black). Her fingertips (of one hand) are on the window, and she isn't looking into the camera. She's looking past it.

The camera seems to spin. From the dark set where we saw Britney facing us and touching the window, we now see her back, gazing out the window in the house. It's night (the whole video is) and raindrops streak the glass panes. (Pathetic fallacy, the best thing on earth.) She's singing out to the world outside, touching the window with her fingertips longingly. She takes her eyes off the window for a moment to glance at the camera, sorrowfully. At that moment, the camera zooms in on her eye, in which we see Britney running.

As the camera zooms closer, the scene fades to show Britney running (in slow-motion) down a dark and rainy sidewalk, her soaked hair flowing heavily behind her. ("I run away...")

Cut again to the dark room, where she now is standing again, singing to the camera.

Back in "the real world," she passes by a tiny diner, now walking and out of breath (we can see her breath; it's cold). She looks in and sees the back of a young man, identical to the back of TheGuy. She enters, soaking wet. Everyone looks at her like she's crazy, but she doesn't care. She taps the young man on the shoulder. He turns. It's not TheGuy. She looks mildly stunned and hurt, and backs away slowly. He stares at her, looking concerned, and makes as if to get up and comfort her. But she turns and runs out the door and down the sidewalk in the same direction as before.

There is the musical interlude here, and she stops running, grasping a lamppost and looking down, panting to catch her breath. The camera continues past her for the echo of "I run away...way...way...way..." into the sky, focusing on the moon, which fades into the pupil of her eye and away to show her face, then her entire body in the dark room, where she is now standing and singing. ("Let's pretend that I've moved on...")

Back at the lamppost, Britney slowly looks up, tears on her face, completely drenched with rain ("Then I'll tell myself..."). She begins walking back the way she came. The camera does not follow, but watches from a short distance as she gets away. Then we see her in the dark room, walking slowly towards the door in the back of the room. Again, the camera stays put. We cut again to the house, Britney walking down the hall where she and TheGuy had the argument, and the camera follows her at a safe distance, and as Britney passes a photograph on the mantle of herself and TheGuy smiling together, the camera focuses on it. The photograph fades to black and the camera fades, at last, on the dark room. The song has ended. Britney opens the door at the back of the room, and exits.

The end.

I wanna make this video soooo much!

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!