Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02-10-02 - 11:47 a.m.

You know that song "Take Five?"

It's one of my favorite pieces of classical jazz music, but for the life of me, I couldn't think of who'd done it first. I knew Miles Davis had a version, and David Miles...but there was someone else. I asked Bryan and Justin, then called to ask Leif, but nobody knew. I hummed the song.

"Isn't that the old Infiniti song?" Bryan asked.

"Yeah, but it was written a long time before that. Some white guy with glasses, I think..."

So I called my brother. The real one, who I haven't spoken to in a long time.

"Hey Brian, you know that old Infiniti song? 'Take Five?' The one that goes, 'ba da da da da da da da da, da da daaaaa, da-da-da-da daaaaa, da-da-da-da daaaaa?'"

"Oh, yeah," he said. "Dave Brubeck."

"Dave Brubeck?"

"White guy. Kinda nerdy-lookin'."

"Thanks."

I have a cool brother.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!