Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02-18-02 - 10:43 p.m.

I changed my mind. I was gonna like, go out of town 'n' stuff for a few days, but I gotta work on Wednesday so I need to stay home.

I got drunk last night and apparently pissed off a friend. She put me on her block list on AIM. Another online friend told me today I was cracking him up last night. I asked him what he meant, and I guess I just sort of babbled incoherently. Drunk people tend to do that.

This morning as I awoke to a (thankfully rather mild) hangover, Bryan came into the room, moved Logan over, and sat on the edge of my bed.

"What?" I said.

"I'm here for the dog, not you."

"Nice."

"I'm kidding."

"I know."

"How ya feelin'?"

"GKjwr8t74nsdf#fsldknf."

"Kay. Me 'n' Justin are goin' to the Zoo today, don't suppose you wanna come?"

"Noooooo."

He got up to leave, but I stopped him. "Why do you stay with me?" I asked.

"To keep from being bored. You certainly keep things interesting. Talk to you later." And he left.

This evening I met with my new boss, who luckily made absolutely no reference whatsoever to Friday's incident at the beach, to talk about what all I'll be doing my first day. Wednesday. I'm still not quite clear on this part. I should be filing, typing, running errands, answering phones, entertaining people who have to wait to see him, taking notes, getting the mail, pre-screening the mail, pre-screening the email...usual secretary stuff, right?

He gave me something that, and I can't really explain why, really touched me. Of course I have my own desk and computer and fancy leather chair and stuff, but now I also have, on my desk, a "gold"-plated nameplate with my first name, middle inital, and last name in block caps lettering. Going from a label-maker'd nametag to this is certainly a step up.

So on Wednesday, I'll see how it goes. See how long it takes before someone sexually harrasses me.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!