Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02-21-02 - 5:00 p.m.

Well, I dumped Leif today. We were talking on the phone, and it sort of popped out of my mouth. Of course he asked why, and I explained that I didn't see myself as really being all too eager to have a romantic relationship with him. I said he was a great friend and I adored spending time with him, complimented him in bed, and waited for his response. It didn't really take long.

"I don't know how to put it, but, uh, I was sort of only in it for the sex."

"Yeah, me too."

"You used me?"

"Sure did."

"That fuckin' rules."

"Yeah..."

"So can we still have sex sometimes?"

"Maybe."

"Right on."

After that, we both hung up. So that was that.

Today for work I wore a dress Justin said I shouldn't wear. I felt like it, though, so I ignored his advice. Adam, my boss, pulled me aside a little while after work started to tell me to be a little more conservative tomorrow.

"A little more conservative?"

"Yes, please."

"You don't want me to be myself?"

"Of course I do, but not this version of you."

"And what 'version' is this?"

"You looked so nice yesterday!"

"I don't today?"

"You're twisting my words."

"Well, you're the lawyer, you should know how verbal manipulation works."

"You're going to drive me crazy, aren't you?"

"Probably, but I'm the fastest typist in this firm and you know it."

"You've only been here two days."

"And already I've been thrice as productive as these nimrods with which you surround me."

Adam made an exasperated noise, threw up his arms, and went back into his office. I went back to my desk and to my work. I do a great job. I'm focused, efficient, and don't need to be told how to do things. I had lunch alone in a nearby caf� today, while Adam met with clients. I think I like him. I think he likes me, too. I'm a challenge to him. I don't automatically do what he says without first giving him a hard time. Bryan's right: I keep things interesting. Wonder why I'm so damn bored all the time, then?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!