Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02-24-03 - 11:25 p.m.

We're supposed to get thunderstorms tonight and tomorrow.

I hate thunder. I hate lightning.

I'm terrified of both of them.

And I'm turning 20 in October.

We had this one clap of thunder last year that if I tried to explain, you wouldn't understand because you just didn't hear it. There wasn't an exceptionally bright flash preceding it, so there was no real indication of the kind of sound that would follow. But what came was unlike anything I'd ever heard before or heard since. It was LOUD and it was LONG. I remember being jolted from half-asleep to wide-awake, shaking with terrified shock and wondering when the hell it would end. I thought it was some kind of bomb, or that one of the many military plans constantly flying practice routes overhead had crashed, until it finally receded into that low growl of a thunder clap and left only echoes. Echoes, agitated dogs' barking, and car alarms. So many car alarms.

Just thinking about it, remembering it, remembering how it was all anyone talked about the next day, like it was the Oscars or something, just makes me nervous.

Am I Californian or what?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!