Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03-01-03 - 10:20 a.m.

(The time is 7:30 a.m. The place is here, my home.)

Door: Knock, knock.

Me, on the couch after finally managing to get four hours of uninterrupted sleep: Groan.

Cat: Purr.

Door: Knock, knock.

Me: Rob, get the door! (even though I'm currently about ten feet from it, and he's on a different floor)

Door: Knock, knock, knock!

Me: ROB, GET THE DOOR!

Ricky: HE WENT TO WORK! SHUT UP AND ANSWER IT YOURSELF!

Me: YOU ARE SO GROUNDED! GET THE DOOR!

Ricky: YOU GET IT!

Door: Knock, knock, knock-knock-knock-knock

Me: I'M COMING! STOP KNOCKING ALREADY!

(I get up, check the time, mutter "Jesus fucking Christ," and go to the door, unlock it, and open it to find an African-American couple, the woman holding a young child in her arms.)

Me: I sincerely hope you're here to sell cookies.

Gentleman: No, Miss, I'm sorry, we're not.

Lady: We're here on behalf of God.

Me: I was afraid of that.

Gentleman: Do you go to church?

Me: Y'know, I'm sorry, but it is way too early for this. Try coming back in like, oh, I don't know, never.

Lady: Are you aware that each day millions of souls that could have been saved are plunged down into the depths of hell?

Me: I hear the weather's warm there this time of year.

Gentleman: Miss, we want to save you.

Me: Look. I don't believe in God. I don't believe in any god. I don't even believe in myself. And I sure as hell am not going to believe in any religion that can be peddled door-to-door. Thank you.

Door: Slam.

Ricky: Who was it?

Me: It was an abstract visual metaphor depicting the evils of our immoral, capitalist society. Now go back to bed.

Fuckers. Haven't been able to get back to sleep.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!