Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03-15-02 - 3:55 p.m.

On the subject of the Andrea Yates sentencing...

At first, I wanted this woman to fry. I wanted her to fucking suffer for what she did, maybe because in some sick way I thought it would serve as some sort of personal justice. I was abused, she killed her kids. My mother killed herself and got off easy, so I wanted Mrs. Yates to have to pay the ultimate price. But then it occurred to me, just the other day, really, that on some level, she has suffered already more than I will (hopefully) ever know.

I know I'm not a mother (yet) but I will be, in several months, and even now, I know I'd break if something were to happen to cause a miscarriage. She lost her children at her own hands.

I'm angrier at the husband.

Russell Yates, who stands behind the Bible in just about every sentence he speaks, could have opted for a vasectomy. He knew that his wife was sick. She had shown signs of violence and psychosis (she was also suicidal) long before this happened, all due to the horror that is post-partum depression. Instead, he left his mentally disturbed wife alone with his five young children, knowing all the while full-well that she was capable of, if not murder, then suicide, which can be just as damaging, if not more, to a child. That fucking bastard. Of course I don't think he deserved to lose his five children. I know that he goes home to an empty house every night now, and that that is probably payment enough.

I don't want to get into a discussion about this with anyone. If you disagree with me, that's nice. Write it in your own diary. I don't really care what you have to say. I just wanted to vent. You don't understand my perspective.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!