Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

06-12-03 - 2:54 p.m.

The reason I can't hold down a job is because I can't hold my tongue. No, I didn't get fired, but I think I will tomorrow. I'm a waitress (can I still use that term or do I have to say "server"?) and my manager doesn't seem to understand that I will not sit back and take his shit. At least, not without throwing a bit back at him. He treats me, and everybody else, like shit. The other managers are awesome, very caring and just a joy to work with. But this guy, well, let's just say I wouldn't cry if he somehow slipped on an ice cube someone accidentally dropped while refilling my table's drinks.

The worst is that he calls me "good girl." Like he's offering me a Milk Bone. So today, during the busiest part of the day, he said "good girl" to me and I turned to him and said, "I am not a golden retriever. My name is Laura. You may compliment me by saying, 'Nice job, Laura.'"

He didn't like that, and threatened me with a write-up.

Bottom line: I don't get paid enough to deal with that shit. My peace of mind is worth a helluva lot more than $6.75/hour.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!