Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6-21-01 - 2:41 a.m.

It's been less than a month since I had my cast put on and already it feels like I've had it on for several years. I bought myself a really cute skirt that I had been planning on wearing out around Cambridge, and I would still wear it, but come on, let's be serious: wouldn't you make strange faces at a girl wearing a short skirt and a neon green cast? I had no choice in the color of cast, by the way. I would never have chosen something that stands out like this does. The skirt I bought is this silver asymmetrical pleather-type thing that would be so sexy to wear if not for my partially green leg. And it's not like I can wear sexy pants, cuz then of course one leg would be about three times fatter than the other.

I did, however, decide to get dressed today. For as long as I've lived in Cambridge (which isn't long at all), I've not once dressed myself beyond pajamas or something close to it. Even when I went out I wore my gray sweats and a tank top, so that nobody can see whether or not I have a socially acceptable figure-I don't, by the way. Today, however, I decided to pretend that I could be sexy with my cast and put on my "Mullets Rock!" shirt over a red skirt with a black belt, black shoes, and a red choker. TYpical clothing for me...I have a strange sense of style. Anyway so I was sitting here with my laptop and in walks New Friend Noah...

"Hey, Laura, I was just-WHOA!"

"Something wrong?"

"You're just...daaaaaaamn, girl!"

It was then that I realized perhaps getting dressed each day wouldn't be such a bad idea after all.

On the topic of Noah, let it be stated that there is nothing between us. There will NEVER be anything between us. Firstly, he has a very serious long-distance girlfriend (even though she is *clearly* cheating on him) and secondly, I am not about to date another guy. I'm soooooo sick of dating. I'm sick of being stereotyped and considered hopeless, and I'm tired of sex. Seriously I am. There's only so many times you can fuck before it gets old. And since I've been very, very, VERY sexually active, non-stop, for about five years, I need a BREAK, dammit. Sex is supposed to be fun, but after sighing and getting undressed every time some guy swears he needs it, anybody can get over the fun of it real fast. BAck home, I'm just the girl every guy knows will give it up on a first date; I'm not a person. I'm just...well, I'm just two breasts and a vagina.

That's the best part about Cambridge-I'm anonymous here. Nobody knows me! Nobody talks about me behind my back. In San Diego, if you'd say, "Hey, y'know that Laura girl?" a likely response would be: "Hell yah, she's such a slut." Whereas here, you'd hear something to the effect of "Laura who?" I love that.

Still no job, but as I was just telling a friend of mine, I really don't know if I want a job. I've never, in my entire life, been able to just sit around for even so much as a day. There has always been something I've had to do. When I was a child, my mother wanted me to be perfect in every way imaginable, so every day after school, and also on weekends, I'd get ushered off to gymnastics, soccer, softball, dance, vocal training, modeling, beauty pageants, junior theatre, art classes, Girl Scouts, Pioneer Girls, Gateways classes...you name it. I never was able to play with toys and, aside from Kellie and Rob, I really didn't have any friends. I was too busy for friends. Through high school I had extracurricular activities and then a job, and then homework to keep me constantly busy, so now that I'm on my own, away from my reputation, my family, myself, I'm free to just do nothing. I'm loving every second of it. I've never felt so carefree before, and all I'm doing is nothing! I've been staying up till four reading books and watching TV instead of studying, and sleeping in till noon instead of waking up a five to get ready for school. I'm actually sleeping, not just taking an occasional catnap in between extracurriculars. am I being lazy? Maybe so, but this is the happiest I've ever been. I know it can't last forever, but allow me to at least enjoy the momentary lethargy I've been allotted to the fullest.

Classes start Monday, and it still hasn't sunken in that I'm going to Harvard. Summer school's going to be terrifying-that is, if I decide to leave the apartment.

Speaking of not leaving, Lexi's going with New Friend Simon and New Friend Noah up to NYC this weekend. They're leaving today, actually-Thursday, that is. They'll all be back Sunday, just in time for classes. I would have gone, but again I have to come back and complain about how much I hate being a gimp. So that means I'll be alone-truly alone-for about four days. WOO-HOO!!!!! I plan on spending those days naked. Why? Because I CAN. I'm not going anywhere, so why bother putting on anything at all? Sleeping naked's the most comfortable way to sleep, anyway...at least *I* think so. Simon asked me to water his plants...I didn't know he had plants. He'll be gone four days; are they *really* gonna dry up and die in that short amount of time? Could he not water them before leaving and then when he comes back? Albeit I'm no botanist, but it just seems to me that it's an unnecessary chore...and I dun wanna do it. That would mean I'd have to at least put on a robe, hobble across the hall, water the plants, and then hobble back home, strip down and resume my naked vacation.

If I was really daring, what I'd do is just streak across the hall and give his plants an eyeful, though they don't have eyes-unless they're potato plants, hyuk hyuk. God I'm lame. Anyway, we'll see what happens.

Tomorrow is the official start of Naked Vacation 2001, so be prepared! Not like anybody else is participating. :)

And now that it's late and my mind has officially taken a turn for the stupid, I think I'll end this. Nite, no one.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!