Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6-24-01 - 9:18 p.m

The Nobody Believes A Word I Say Poll

Am I secretly in love with Noah Tyler?



Current Results


WARNING: EXTREMELY RANDOM CRAP AHEAD. READ WITH CAUTION, AS THIS ENTRY MAKES EVEN LESS SENSE THAN ALL MY PAST ONES COMBINED.

I'm never gonna dance again...guilty feet have GOT no rhythm...so I'm never gonna dance again, the way I danced with yooooo-hooo-hooooooouuuu....

Damn I love that song. Elevator muzak is great. Yes it is!

Noah's okay, I think. He told me that he will miss her, but that he actually feels somewhat "liberated" now that he's not tied down to her anymore. I told him not to choose any big adjectives to describe himself for a few days, lest he feel guilty about it later on. Did that make sense? Nope. But it sounded good. :) So apparently the world is against me yet again, and that's why I've put this little poll on my page. I actually had an argument earlier today with my dear sweet sister Carrie about it. Carrie says we're secretly fucking and I say we're not. After all, shouldn't I know? Plus, how could I fuck anyone with this big-ass cast on my leg?!

Honestly, something did happen last night, but it wasn't my fault-really! Last night I went over to see Noah and make sure he was doing alright, and I held him for a few hours and he kissed me. Not on the forehead like before, but this time it was full on, practically a passionate smooch, on the lips. Did I return the favor?

No.

Firstly, I want Noah as a friend. Aside from Rob, I've never had any really good guy friends, and I've always wanted one. I have an online friend, Lancer, with whom I think I used to be clsoe, but, well, we've just really grown apart in the past few months, so I dunno if I should even count that. Justin, back in San Diego, was the closest thing to what friendship I had with Rob. But I moved before I could really get to know him. What I loved best about Justin was that Justin was gay, which meant I had no reason to fear for him. He was also honest, kind, hilarious, and helped me fix up my prom dress-the dress that almost got me kicked out of the dance...heh heh. ;) That was great...almost got arrested twice that night...and then as soon as I get to Cambridge, I'm arrested at a freaking Denny's. Oh, wait, I've not yet pasted that story into an entry. Well, those of you I emailed this story, yes I did just copy and paste the exact message I sent you all:

June 12, 2001-

After sitting around at home with Lexi, Noah, and Simon for a while, Noah announced his hunger. So we went to the nearest Denny's. I was just barely hungry so I asked for a kids' menu.

Evil Bitch Woman (EBW) gave me one along with a red crayon...so I was like, "Ok...thanks....I think?" and after a while, I decided I wanted to get the kiddie-sized French toast ("Frenchtastic") and told EBW so. She said, as though I was some sort of moron, "I'm...gonna have to check if we can do that." I said, "Why wouldn't you be able to? Breakfast items are served 24/7, right?"

She said, "Well, yah, but you're not 12 or under, are you?"

I shook my head, but said I would only be paying a child's price for a child's portion, so the DEnny's corporation really wouldn't be losing any money on my purchase, whereas if I ordered the full-size, my not being hungry enough to *eat* the full-size, the company would lose the money that went into the purchase of the ingredients used in the preparation of the meal I wouldn't be able to finish.

She sorta stared blankly at me, and as comprehension slowly dawned on her, I could tell she wasn't going to give me her way. But like all good waitresses do when they have no idea what to say, she replied (with a hideous "stupid bitch!" undertone): "I'm gonna have to ask my manager about that."

So we waited and from where we were seated (right behind the little cubby where the soda fountain is located) we all could hear EBW talking smack about me to a co-worker. We stopped our conversation to listen in on theirs, and she was imitating my voice, mocking what I had said.

So I loudly cleared my throat and said, "Not like *anyone* can hear you!" and she scowled over the cubby at me. When she came back to refill our water glasses, she "accidentally" spilled water and ice over the side of my glass. I didn't say anything about that, and decided to try and be nice about it, telling her it was okay and that I'd clean it up-which I did.

A few minutes later, she came back, gave me a really ugly look, and said, "Sorry, can't do that."

I asked what, and she went on to say it was store policy to not sell items on the kids' menu to anyone over the age of 12. Again I explained the logic of my intentions, and she said to me, being the apparent genius she is, "Well, then you just shouldn't get anything."

"See," I said, "that's not good for your company, either. Think about this for just a sec. I want to pay $2.99 for a meal that will give me $2.99 worth of food. If I order the $4.99 adult equivalent, I'll also get mandatory sides with it, which I won't eat, not to mention the fact that all but what I'm actually hungry *for* will be left on my plate, tossed in the trash, and thereby wasted. If I don't order at *all,* how will your store, and by extension, your company, make any profit off of me? Thus far, I've ordered complimentary water. Being that it's free (hence: complimentary), you're making, in turn, a negative profit towards your company, because I'm not paying for something that has to be purchased in order to be distributed."

Again she gave me that blank stare and said, "Do you want to speak to my manager yourself?"

I said, "And repeat what I've just told you? Why, sure. It'd be nice to see someone whose tip won't be affected."

So she went and got the manager, and again I went through the whole song-and-dance routine of how much sense it would make for them to give me the blasted Frenchtastic and be done with it.

Now, Manager Lady (ML) tried telling me about how important it was not to feed me the kids' portion because it would be nice if it was saved for an actual kid.

Being that I've worked in a restaurant very similar to Denny's, I asked her this: "Your restaurant disposes of leftover food at the end of each day, correct?"

"Yes."

"How many children do you know that will come here at 10:00 on a school night?"

"That's not the issue."

"You just told me it was."

"No, I didn't. I'm older than you. I know what I'm talking about."

That pissed me off.

As everyone knows, I hate to be talked down to. I'm smart, and I expect to be treated as such. So, I looked ML straight in the eye and said, "I'm younger than you, and I'm paying your salary just by eating here."

She started to say something more, but she had crossed the line, so I let her have it. "Let's assume I'm 17 years old...because I am. You, being older than me, assume that just because you're superior to me in numerical age, you must therefore be more intelligent than I am. Yet you have no real basis of your opinion because you do nothing but make blind assumptions based on stereotype-a stereotype you didn't even invent. You foolishly accept the world with which you are presented and do not beg to differ from popular opinion, however misinformed it may be. Tell me, how do you sleep at night being so ignorant?"

"Do you want me to call the police?"

"Why are you asking me? You're old enough to make your own decisions. I just want my Frenchtastic."

"I'm going to call the police."

"G'head. Call them. If I'm arrested, I won't be able to buy anything-not that I would at this point-and we'd be back to the original problem of your company losing money. This would be your fault, now, wouldn't it?"

"You're disturbing the other customers."

Making a quick glance around, I noticed a total of *one* other party... of college-aged students, a guy and a girl. They were looking over at what was going on and so I shouted to them, "Hey! Am I disturbing you?"

The guy shouted back, "No, we're cheering you on!"

I grinned a smug grin and said, "They seem alright to me."

EBW said, "Look, hon, you don't have to be so difficult-"

"-And neither do you. I just want my Frenchtastic! And don't call me 'Hon.'"

So she and ML disappeared and next thing I knew, I was being arrested. They didn't even handcuff me. They just asked me to come along, and since I'm *not* stupid, I didn't put up a fight.

Anywho, on the way to the station I was explaining what happened to the cops in the car, and they actually agreed with me!! But we went down to the station anyway, and ML decided not to press any charges or anything, so Lexi came and drove me home, congratulating me on my "bravery" and also scolding me on my being "headstrong."

Yah, so I'm a criminal now, I think...whee!

I started writing this at two, it's after nine now...I stopped, of course, to do other things. Lexi and Simon are home, and they apparently had a great time, bought a ton of crap, and LExi even bought me two gifties!!! She got me:

1) a *really* cute short black skirt

2) a silvery pleather one-shoulder tank

Awwwww :)

I'll buy her something, too, once I decide to leave the apartment.

Tomorrow is my first day of summer school, first day being inside a classroom at college. I just know I'm gonna be eaten alive. Eep! Ah well...here goes nothin'...

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!