Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6-25-01 - 12:35 p.m.

This probably won't matter to anyone but me, but this news I just received (rumor, actually) disturbs me greatly...and what with this whole Ark Boy thing tonight, this is the kind of email I really didn't want to get. However...on the Bennytour mailing list, I received this message:

<< I was watching BET and they said that Spike Lee wants to Direct The movie

version of RENT..and is like paying miramax 5 million dollars to do it,

because they own the rights to RENT..has anyone else heard this? >>

Jonathon Larson's RENT has had such an astounding impact on my life that it would actually hurt my feelings if a Hollywood-ized version of the masterpiece were to come out. Larson died the night before it opened on Broadway, so he wouldn't be able to help write a screenplay for the film.

As much as I think it would rock for to be able to have a video of RENT, I'd prefer it be just someone's bootlegged camcorder recording of an actual live production.

Someone else on the list said this, summing up my feelings exactly:

<<

**Sigh ** I can already see it ... Leo DiCaprio ( how ever you spell his

name) will be out Roger... Matt Damon will geeked out as Mark........**shudders** >>

I hope nothing comes of this, that Miramax declines his request...but I know it's inevitable. Boohiss.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!