Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6-28-01 - 1:07 a.m.

Because I said I wouldn't spend any more time writing about my father, I've decided to go back to writing about Noah. He has been the focus of my past entries, after all.

I have a confession to make. I do like Noah. I really, really do. It's been a long time since I've had a genuine crush. I mean, I was with Rob for a really long time. My thing with Tony was something more of infatuation, which developed into romantic feelings. I think my last actual crush was on Jared...who, ironically, is dating Kellie right now.

I do realize how very late it is, and I realize also that I should be asleep in preparation for classes tomorrow. Today's just been such an amazing day that I'm wired. Aside from anything pertaining to the person I said I wouldn't metion, this evening Noah and I had what I'm going to refer to as our official "first date."

Of course, being the compassionate guy he is, he didn't force upon me the stress of going out in public with my cast. Instead, he printed out as many pictures of candles as he could find and posted them up around his and Simon's apartment and tried to arrange the Chinese takeout he'd ordered for us in little smiley faces on both of our plates...which was a little disturbing, to be honest. So we ate, watched Clue on TV, and did a little homework together...and no, you should not read very far into that sentence-we're taking the same philosophy class and I assure you there isn't much romance to be found in note-taking. After helping me hobble home (a whole six feet away from his door) he kissed my cheek and we said our good nights.

I walked in and had to explain to Simon and Lexi that there isn't anything serious between Noah and me, and that there may never be anything serious between us. I'm sure Simon went home and gave Noah the same hard time, and when he'd left, Lexi wanted to bring up something completely new.

She wants a pet.

Strangely, nowhere in our renters' contract does it say that we can't have pets. It doesn't mention them at all. So I guess she'll go down to Mr. Landlord tomorrow to ask his opinion. She mentioned getting a dog, but, having owned one, I guaranteed her that a third floor, two-bedroom apartment would be a death sentence...either for the dog or for us. So then she offered her idea of adopting a cat.

I suggested fish. Fish are easy. Sure, they're boring. But they at least qualify people like us for circling "Yes" when the carpet cleaners ask if we own pets. I really hate the word "fishes," too. I don't even think it's technically a word. I've always thought the word "fish" was both singular and plural, like "deer." You don't say, "Hey, look, I see two deerS." So why should you say "fishes?" Li'l pet peeve there...oh god, a pun, too...cuz it's a pet peeve.

I personally have always wanted to own a ferret. They're illegal in California-why? Because people are stupid. However, I had a friend who owned two ferrets (*ahem* illegally) back home and they were the sweetest little things. True, their nature made them horrendously curious, and they got into absolutely everything, but they seemed to make wonderful pets. And I don't have any chickens, so I don't really think there's any threat of that sort. Still, though, I think fish are the way to go, if fish are even allowed. We'll see.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!