Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6-29-01 - 2:49 a.m.

Dammit.

I'm too trendy for my own good.

The Fates recently bestowed a rather substantial amount of money on me, and the first thing I bought was...well, actually, I helped Lexi pay for the Three Hamsketeers, so I guess that was my first official purchase. My second...was lunch, but my third was gold membership. I figure I'm enough of an addict to deserve such an honor. As you'll see, I've updated the "look" of my diary-don't worry, this isn't permanent. I'm just experimenting thus far.

Another aspect of my trendiness, which has absolutely nothing to do with money, is the fact that I just got myself a Neopet. Oh yes.

Why did I do it? That's a question I'm still trying to answer. I keep hearing about these damn Tomagotchi reincarnations from every single person I know, because every single person I know has a Neopet.

I was never tempted before just a little while ago to ever "adopt" one of the little two-dimensional Anime-inspired creatures. I was very heavily into the GigaPet and Tomagotchi scene back in seventh grade, a crazy fad that came and went with the same kind of unimpressive societal impact left by such has-beens as pogs and Christina Aguilera. The main difference between an internet-only pain in the ass and one that hangs by a belt loop is that at least, with my new annoyance, I won't have to deal with it beeping all the time just because I refuse to feed it.

My new...uh...thing is a manly green "Kacheek," which is a species of Stupid Nonexistent Animal, and because the site wouldn't let me name him "Bastard" or "Dumbass," his birth certificate now reads "Stupid Green Moron."

Gee, Laura, if you hate Neopets so much, why did you get one?

Because I was feeling left out, dammit! That's why! *gasp* I wonder if I'm allowed to have a Neopet in my apartment? I mean, who knows what evil Moron's up to? If he's made friends with some cockatiels from the wrong side of the tracks, then maybe it's time to leave him at the Neopound. Hmm...we'll see...

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!