Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6-29-01 - 3:54 a.m.

I made out with Noah in public tonight. We went with Lexi and Simon to an under-21 club and, since I'm not able to dance with my cast on (though I did try very briefly), Noah and I sat in a booth...or, rather, he sat in the booth and I sat in his lap. We were kicked out for "inappropriate conduct." It's a night club, for Christ's sake. There were probably guys slipping rohypnol into girls' drinks, but because we're kissing, off the dancefloor and in a somewhat secluded area, we're being inappropriate??

What's the deal with people being so anti-PDA, anyway? (PDA=Public Displays of Affection) Why can people smoke in public but not kiss or even hold hands without someone getting upset over it? You can't die from second-hand saliva or anything, so what, exactly, is the problem?

Oh, that's right...

It's inappropriate.

Why? Why is it inappropriate to show off one's affection for another in the sight of everyone? Obviously, sex in public is rightfully outlawed, because kids don't need to see that-by "that" I mean nudity, though they're bound to see it sooner or later. Don't tell me kids should be shielded from kissing in public. If that's true, then we need to ban every single Disney movie ever produced. Think about this for a second...

Pocahontas and John Smith, Belle and the prince/Beast, Aladdin and Jasmine, Simba and Nala (nuzzling counts), Ariel and Eric, etc. etc. all kissed, hugged, or held hands in plain view of more than three people/creatures. And these are just the G-rated movies! Turn on the TV, and there's people kissing in commercials! You can't get more public than on TV.

If you don't want to see it, either close your eyes or look away. But don't stop someone from being affectionate. Applaud it. Or would you rather it be a public display of hatred?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!