Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7-6-01 - 1:23 p.m.

Sitting down to write this entry I had the sudden urge to brush my teeth. So I had to put it off for a few minutes so I could brush, rinse with Cool Mint Listerene, and floss. Which has led me to bringing up today's diary topic:

I think I'm obsessed with my oral hygiene.

I brush my teeth something like four or five times each day-after everything I eat, in the morning when I first wake up, and right before I go to bed. I floss every night and rinse with Listerene a least once a day. I chew minty gum and am constantly checking to make sure my teeth are spotless. And, of course, I never think they're "white enough" to be shown off.

I whitened my teeth (a three-week process, actually!) in my freshman year of high school, just as I was getting back into the modeling scene at my mother's request demand. Since then, I've had this nagging sensation that everything I eat somehow manages to stain my teeth just a little bit more, and that my teeth are incredibly yellow, like a chain-smoker's, even though everybody tells me they're fine. I had braces and retainers when I was younger, so I know they're straight, but they just don't always feel clean, like I'd like them to be.

When I smile, my top row of teeth shows right up to the gum-my smile is huge and funny-looking. And in every picture I take, I swear my teeth are constantly less white than they'd been in the previous snapshot.

Probably the first thing I notice about a person's appearance is whether their teeth are nice. If they have crowded and crooked teeth, it turns me off-something I know to be shallow, but I can't help it. If their teeth are yellow or even worse, gray, or have some sort of strange chip or food stain on them, I notice and am tempted to hand them my orthodontist's business card. It doesn't mean I wont't talk to that person; it just means I might find myself staring at their teeth more than the rest of their face.

It makes me self-conscious, too, to talk to people with less-than-perfect teeth, as though maybe mine are bad, too. Without noticing it, I usually close my mouth and run my tongue along my teeth, just to make sure they're still perfectly aligned and free of any food bits. Even as I'm writing this I'm tempted to go and floss.

In fact, I think I will.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!