Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7-8-01 - 7:07 p.m.

Today I started what is to become the greatest book ever written.

So far, I have a protagonist. Her name is Taryn Rowling...and yes, I took the last name from a very excellent author whose fourth book I finished reading for the nineteenth time last night. I keep telling myself November 16th...November 16th is when the movie's coming...and the fifth book will be out somewhere around that date...just a few more months until his fifth year at Hogwarts...I can do this. I can wait. I will survive.

In the meantime, Taryn needs a plot. It's been a long time since I sat down to write a story-I don't call them books, because I've no intention of getting them published. I rarely even let anybody read them, too embarrassed and shy and all that crap. I'm weird like that. I don't like being acknowledged for my accomplishments. I get all uncomfortable any time I win any awards. I don't know why. It kinda sucks because I know people think I'm being too modest, but I personally would rather be that than boastful and considered arrogant.

The last story I wrote turned out alright, I guess. I let three people read it-two online friends and Kellie. All seemed to like it, but I hated it. I still hate it. It was awful. I had a character in it who was meant to be the protagonist, and gave her very few shining moments. I focused mostly on a character that I had intended to use as a supportive best friend. She was originally cast with a Southern accent. After that, I changed it and made her British. And then of course, the evil warlord bad guy...didn't have a motive. I hastily made something up about old debts or something...I don't remember. I just recall thinking, "Damn that sucks." I began to write a prequel and a sequel to that base story, neither of which I liked, and therefore also scrapped.

So you can see why I'm not too optimistic about this Taryn story. I don't even know what genre I'd like to classify it as. We'll see.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!