Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7-10-01 - 3:46 a.m.

Living in someone's shadow is a terrible thing. Especially when the shadow is your own.

In high school, I was completely two-faced. On the one hand, I was the addict, the whore, the liar, the fuck-up, the Maury Povich boot camp poster child, the scared little girl. On the other hand, I was the award-winning writer, the National Merit Scholar, the Valedictorian, the Varsity athlete, the Kelly Kapowski all-American popular chick. Trying to live them both down simultaneously has been quite an ordeal, and I'm still shrouded in darkness as far as my shadow is concerned.

I'm also "that really pretty girl's best friend" and "that new GAP model's adopted sister." So I've got Kellie's shadow to get out from under, as well. Or do I? Sometimes I don't understand how anybody could compare us. We're completely different from one another, and growing more and more so every day... I'm not nearly as pretty as Kellie, but I have a better personality.

That's why I love Cambridge. I know I've said it before, but I'm gonna repeat myself: in Cambridge there are no shadows, only the light and warmth of a whole new beginning. Nothing here reminds me of who I was, only who I'm becoming. It's kinda scary and exciting-it's exhilirating. I don't want to go home.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!