Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7-11-01 - 3:53 p.m.

I already complained about Spike Lee wanting to make RENT into a movie. Well, now it's not just a rumor-it's really happening. And Justin Timberlake (of *N Sync) wants the role of "Mark."

Now, I like *N Sync. Their music is fun, incredibly catchy, upbeat and great for driving long-distance. But can they act? While their cameos on Saturday Night Live (the Joshua Jackson-hosted episode) were humorous, one can't really judge just by that.

Apparently, Justin is very keen on winning this role. He and girlfriend Britney Spears went and saw RENT in New York and met the cast members, and from what I hear, he's spending time trying to learn the role. That's all well and good, but it doesn't change the fact that I just can't see this movie being any good. Then again, it might be a good dramatic film, but I'm so protective of RENT that I feel that unless they cast the OBC (original Broadway cast) and use the same set (so that it's basically just a videotaped recording of a live performance) the work won't be done any justice.

While I'd love RENT to be able to touch as many people as powerfully as it touched me, I have my doubts...I really don't want this becoming some new trendy trend that 13-year-olds love just because Justin's in it. And you know that would happen. It wouldn't be his fault at all. Most 13-year-olds just aren't mature enough to understand the subjects covered in RENT. I wasn't. I just thought the music was really great. Now I understand everything, and can identify with some of it. It's just...wow...

Maybe he won't get the part...maybe Spike Lee doesn't care about starpower and selling tickets...

I want my mommy.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!