Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8-4-01 - 12:26 p.m.

Freedom is a good thing.

So I broke my shin on June 2 (Rob's birthday, actually-he was not involved). Ten(ish) weeks and one spatula head later (today) I went to the doctor to have my green demon (cast) removed.

I gave him fair warning that he would find a spatula head lodged in between cast and skin. He asked me where it was, and because I couldn't quite remember except to say "somewhere here" and wave my hand in the general direction of everywhere, he thought it best to cut it off along the left side of my leg. I was pretty sure it wasn't there.

After he had cut it off, it smelled. My spatula head had stuck to my skin (presumably with sweat) and I had to flick it off. Doctor Man wasn't actually impressed by my little Token of Itchiness. He started telling me about the many ways people found to relieve under-the-cast itching, the strangest item he had discovered being someone's cell phone. Looking at my tiny Nokia 8290 and down where my cast used to be, all I have to say is "Ouch!" Cuz even though my cell phone is miniscule, it's still way too big to be stuffed down any skin-and-fiberglass crevice.

And of course I'm supposed to tell about how my dear left leg now looks and feels.

When it was first cut off, it was a hideous display of very long, matted leg hair, caked-on sweat and dirt (shaped as if I'd used my spatula head as a stencil), and a very small patch of mold.

Damia, dammit, you were right.

Doctor Man had me bend and twist my ankle, which actually hurt, considering I've not done it for nearly a fifth of a year. He let me wash my leg off (but not shave) and then spent some time massaging my ankle, foot, and shin. Then he made me walk around for a bit and put on a shoe and sock he had told me to bring to get the feel of it again. Which is stupid since I rarely wear shoes in favor of sandals.

Walking is so weird! I'm so used to having this big extra weight around my leg and limping and not bending my ankle when I walk...wow.

Me=happy :)

Rob said that, if I wanted, he could latch his arms around my leg and I could drag him when I step so I wouldn't have to feel uneven. I told him, quite simply, "No."

When I came home, I hopped in the shower and shaved. I'm actually pretty lucky that my natural skin color is fairly tanned-looking, because otherwise, if I was naturally as pale as say, Rob (who is blonde with blue eyes), this might suck a lot. My right leg was darker than my left, but a little Coppertone Endless Summer Sunless Tanner evened that right up.

Ok, so I cheated. Sue me.

Wheeee! I'm free!

The end.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!