Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8-14-01 - 12:25 a.m.

I have had absolutely no inspiration whatsoever to write in my diary for the past two days. It isn't that I've stopped feeling. It's more along the lines of the fact that, until tonight, I literally did nothing. Even tonight my schedule wasn't exactly packed with activities.

I went to the beach, but the water was freezing, so I didn't stay long.

Rob wanted to go bowling, but the alleys were already overbooked so we decided to leave instead of wait two hours.

So that sorta shot down all my plans. Which isn't to say I didn't have a good evening, because I did.

On the way home, we drove past one of the few remaining community parks in the ever-expanding San Diego county and saw that the sprinklers were on.

"Wanna go run through the sprinklers?" I asked Rob.

Without answering, he turned the car around and we parked alongside the road on the opposite side, dashed across the street, set down our things, took off our shirts, and went crazy. One of the sprinkler heads had broken and was spouting water like a geyser-easily 20 feet in the air-so we twirled and danced around in the makeshift rain it created for a while. We made grass angels, which turned into mud angels with the saturation of the ground from the sprinklers. Rob carried me around screaming, "SANCTUARY!" until he tripped and we both fell over, laughing hysterically.

It's amazing, isn't it? The way some of the simplest things in life can bring such immense amounts of joy? I let myself go, I let myself play and have good, clean fun. I let myself run around, barefooted, cold, grassy, wearing only a bra over my jeans, probably makeup-smeared and muddy and gross-looking, and I think that I shall always remember this night.

After what seemed like forever, we were both exhausted and freezing, collapsed on the ground long after the sprinklers had stopped sprinkling, and decided to go home. Rob kissed my forehead and told me I tasted like mud. (Which is funny, considering he was one of the weird kids who not only made mudpies, but ate them, as well, so I of course have to trust his authority as to its taste.)

So we gathered our things, put our shirts back on, and reluctantly made our way back across the road, into the car, and drove back home.

This is how I'd love to live my life, just some way of living so that every day I can feel the euphoria I felt while dancing in the sprinklers. It's easily the best high I've ever had, didn't kill any braincells, and is sure to last a lot longer than anything I could have smoked.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!