Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8-16-01 - 4:30 p.m.

Saw Janet again today, had a pretty good meeting, I guess. I don't really know if it's the kind of thing I can really put on a ratings scale. Although, I'd have to say that if the day ever comes when I walk in and she puts her hand to my forehead and heals me of all my emotional hurts, I think that'd probably deserve two thumbs way up.

Laurie came over so I could begin teaching her the choreography to Britney Spears'(s) "(You Drive Me) Crazy." This might take a while. Today I just was teaching her how to loosen up her hips and shoulders so her movements would at least be fluid. She tells me she wants to end with a flip. This is a girl who has never taken a single day of gymnastics. I took years of classes, participated in tons of competitions, and didn't learn to even do walk-overs until after I'd gained enough of a proficiency on the uneven bars. (Arm strength, doncha know.) So...we'll see. I also spent some time trying to teach her to count with me, just so she could get accustomed to the tempo.

If you've ever seen Mr. Holland's Opus, then I would ask you to recall the black kid who couldn't keep a beat, no matter what Mr. Holland did to help him. Change his gender, give him reddish-brown hair and green eyes and you've got Laurie. She's such a sweet girl and she really wants to learn, but geeeze...

After a little bit of working on stretches and warmups and counting, I showed her the very first step in the dance, which basically is this thing with your arms straight out, but your elbows are bent so your hands are parallel to your body and in fists, and you kick your right leg out over your left foot. It sounds a lot more complicated than it is. Or so I thought. I did it slowly and many times until Laurie had got it down. We did that several times.

Then her cell phone rang, her boyfriend on the phone, wanting to go get some food. Thus ended Dance Lesson #1. She knows one step.

I guess any progress is still progress.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!