Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8-17-01 - 12:57 p.m.

[last night, just after midnight...]

*Ring ring*
Hello?
Hi, Laura? It's Bryan.
Hi, Bry...you sound really upset. Are you crying?
Yeah, um...can I spend the night?
Come on over.
How do I get there?
Are you at home?
Yeah.
Stay where you are, I'm on my way.

[cut to this morning...]

He was planning on coming out to his parents tonight. He even rehearsed what all he would say. Justin left town today and won't be back until Monday.

He was afraid that his mom would cry, and that his dad would just go really silent. When he told them, his mom started crying and his dad fell silent, picked up his car keys, and drove away.

So he's going to spend some time with Rob and me. When I picked him up, he was a wreck. I hate to see guys cry, or anybody for that matter. Rob and I stayed up till 3:30 talking to him, and having him talk to us, and he's been asleep ever since.

It is my opinion that his mom, who said to him, "Well, honey, if you're sure it's not just a phase, I guess that's okay. But you know your grandma won't be happy. And I had hoped you could provide me with some really cute grandchildren," made a very big mistake. So did his dad. He's had an excellent relationship with both of them his whole life, and for them to suddenly treat him any differently just because he told them he was gay is wrong.

Nothing's changed for him. Why should they act like anything's going to be different?

Sexuality in no way defines somebody's personality. A person's personality is not limited by the stereotypes that surround every sexual and lifestyle preference. I love Bryan's personality. He's homosexual. Big deal. The world needs to get the hell over it.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!