Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-08-22 - 11:50 a.m.

Well, genius that I am, I neglected to read the news bits as I typed in my extremely long entry last night, and after seeing that the most important parts of the members' section were down, I gave up and went to bed.

So to summarize what Diaryland ate, I had a very busy day yesterday. I left the apartment in the morning and did not come back till late in the evening.

Things I did:

1. Applied for two jobs.
��One was at a coffeeshop, the other was at a little tropical-themed restaurant similar to the Islands restaurant chain.

2. Talked things over with Sharon.
��She apologized profusely for not standing up for me, and explained that she's had a rocky relationship with her parents for a long time and just didn't want to get into that again. She told me she was a coward when it came to them.
��I asked why they didn't like me, and she told me the stupidest reason I have ever heard in my entire life. Apparently, when Sharon married her first husband, Dave, who is Kellie and Carrie's father, they threatened to not come to the wedding and treated her terribly, because he is white. They are Japanese and apparently very "traditional." So they wanted Sharon to marry within her race. When she married George, who is also Japanese, they were thrilled and again treated her like their oldest daughter. Then Sharon and George adopted me, someone with absolutely no Japanese or Asian blood whatsoever. Yet again they were not pleased, and seem to think I'm not worthy of a Japanese family. I told Sharon I thought that was the most pathetic thing I had ever heard in my entire life. She agreed. And she said that there was nothing she or I could do to change their minds, and she would never make me see them again. She said that nothing, not even her parents, could change her feelings about me. She told me she loved me, gave me a wonderful hug, and said she had never meant to hurt me, and had no idea I had taken it so hard and would never again put her fears of losing contact with her parents before her daughter's (my) feelings.
��I told her about throwing away my penknife, and she was thrilled. She put some medicine stuff on my hands, which she said look like they're becoming infected, and told me that if they weren't much better by Friday, she was going to take me to a doctor. Boohiss.

3. On the advice of New Friend Patti and Inarticulate (two amazing women I totally admire), I went down to the Boys and Girls Club to see about volunteering. I was given a number to call, and will call it...er, eventually. Little kids intimidate the hell out of me, but I know the personal satisfaction I'd get from helping them would probably be greater than if I returned to the Humane Society.

4. Helped a deaf person order at the coffeeshop. This was extremely cool. I was talking to the manager, after filling out an application, and right next to me, a Worker Girl was frowning at a young man, who was making the sign for paper and holding a pen in his hand. The manager looked up at him, not understanding. I waved my hand to get his attention, and made the signs to say, "Are you deaf?" He looked shocked and signed, "Yes, do you know sign language?" I made the sign for "yes," which is extremely simple-basically, you take your fist and you make it nod. (I'd love to know how many people try that after reading it.) He signed that he wanted to order #13 and I told the Worker Girl, then translated to him his total. The guy was really pleased and thanked me and then went to join his friends. I done good. :)

5. Talked to Bryan for a bit. He has decided it is time to move out. I asked if it had anything to do with his parents, he said partially, but that it had been building up for a long time, and their reaction to his coming out was merely the final straw. He said he didn't want to live with Justin just yet, because he doesn't want to threaten their relationship by moving too fast, and asked if he could stay with me a while. I said he was welcome to, as long as it was okay with Rob. He said he wouldn't be able to help with the rent, and I said that was okay, too. So now I have two hot 'n' sexy male roommates, because Rob really likes Bryan and was happy to have him here, just as long, he said, as there was to be "no nookie between Bryan and Justin." I told Bryan to leave his family on good terms and really think about what he was doing before he moved in. So we'll see.

That was it. A pretty busy day, when compared to my recent ones. I slept very well last night, for a change. And today has been fairly uneventful. So far.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!