Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8-23-01 - 10:44 a.m.

Okay, so today I have decided that I am Deathly Ill. I called Rob, who is at work, to tell him so.

"Hello, F Street Books."
"Rob?"
"Hey, babe, what's up?" (He calls me "babe." I call him "babe." It works.)
"I'm Deathly Ill."
"Are ya now?"
"Yes."
"Okay. Sorry to hear that."

He was not impressed. Bryan likes it, though, so at least one Hot Male Roommate is on my side.

The whole food poisoning bit seems to be over, as I haven't thrown up in...oh, I'd say a good five hours. Now I just have a good ol' run-of-the-mill case of malaria. I always say I have malaria when I get sick. Keeps things interesting. Damn tsetse flies.

They say that when you're sick, you should take a whole bunch of vitamin C. I've had two bowls of Froot Loops and a handful of Life Savers. Things are looking up.

In other news, I now have a job. The manager guy (Kurt) from the coffeeshop called me and asked if I was free Sunday.

"Um...yes?"
"Wanna start working?"
"Are you hiring me?"
"Is that okay?"
"Yeah! I just wasn't sure."

He said he was really impressed with "the way I handled the deaf customer" and wanted to know where I'd learned so much. I told him I had taken a class years ago in Girl Scouts (never again!) and two at a community college here. He asked if I knew any other languages, and I told him I was fairly capable of speaking Spanish. So this afternoon or tonight or something I'm supposed to go and work out a schedule. I'm not sure yet just how often I want to work. We'll see.

Step One has been accomplished. Step Two, volunteering, is in the works. Sort of.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!