Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8-30-01 - 11:12 a.m.

I began my vegetarian lifestyle last night, helping myself to six Morningstar fake chicken buffalo wings. Surprisingly, they were excellent, though very spicy. Rob said the spice was meant to cover up the lack of meat. Eh, details...

I had the most random dream last night: I was at some stranger's boy scout Eagle ceremony, and I was playing the trumpet. That was basically it. I just walked around with everyone (why they were all walking was a mystery, as well) and played the trumpet. I remember telling people I was a virtuoso and had never taken a lesson. I played such trumpet-y songs as "Killing Me Softly" and the theme song from "M*A*S*H"...if my new vegetarian lifestyle is going to give me these dreams, I'm going to have to reconsider.

Last night during my fake-meat dinner, Rob asked me a question. To make a long story short, he said he could get more phone numbers at a club-or-something than I could. And so now we have a Stupid And Pointless Bet going. It certainly doesn't help my cause that I'm not old enough to get in to any clubs without a fake ID.

So I guess some time soon we're going to put this little bet to action. He has a sort of unfair advantage over me, being that he's not a recent appendectomy patient. My advantage over him is that I will be picking up males. Theoretically, all I will have to do it run my tongue across my lips and show a hint of cleavage. This is the dumbest thing I've ever agreed to do.

Tomorrow I go in for job training. I'm being told not to rush things, to take it easy. Honestly, I feel fine. I'm missing a chunk off my intestine and I won't be wearing bikinis for a while (make that ever again) but I'm perfectly okay. Now, I'm not saying I want to go out and run a marathon, but I'm not gonna sit around the apartment (I'm back home, btw) forever.

Now I've got to start seriously thinking about college. There's Harvard...but I honestly don't know if I want to go there. It's not just Noah. I just don't want to spend upwards of $30,000 per year if I have no idea what I want to study. Plus the weather here is, well...perfect. And I can see snow in the mountains every winter just like anyone else. Or if I'm desperate, I'll drive up north to the Sierra Nevadas. The beauty of San Diego is that, no matter what kind of climate you like, you can find it within the county. There are mountains, beaches, inland valleys, big city areas, deserts-everything. It's insane.

I stole Sparkler's quiz (click) and filled it out myself. It's that "Find Your Spot" questionnare. You answer eight pages of questions (similar to Emode.com) and you're given four pages of American cities that would best suit your particular personality and environment needs. After filling it out, I was somewhat shocked to see that my number one perfect city match is:

San Diego, California. ("California's First City"-I thought our slogan was "America's Finest." It says so on cop cars...)

So maybe I should just stay put. The majority of my responses were California cities. What can I say? I'm a California girl. The rest were:
Long Beach, California ("LA's Ocean playground")
Honolulu, Hawaii ("America�s Tropical Paradise")
New Orleans, Louisiana ("The Crescent City")
Little Rock, Arkansas ("Where America Comes Together")
Baltimore, Maryland ("The Sparkling Harbor City")
Orange County, California ("Live The California Dream")
San Francisco, California ("The Golden Gate City")
Las Vegas, Nevada ("Entertainment Capital of the World")
Washington, District of Columbia ("The World's Greatest Capital")
New Haven, Connecticut ("Home of Yale University")
Boston, Massachusetts ("America�s Walking City")
Los Angeles, California ("The Dream Factory") -interesting they'd use the word "factory" considering LA pollutes the rest of the state...ugh
San Jose, California ("The Silicon Capital") -that's siliCON, not silicone
Providence, Rhode Island ("New England�s Best Kept Secret")
Portland, Oregon ("City of Roses")
Chicago, Illinois ("The Windy City")
Hartford, Connecticut ("The Insurance Capital")
Sacramento, California ("The River City")
Oakland, California ("East Bay Living")
Albuquerque, New Mexico ("The Pulse of New Mexico")
Milwaukee, Wisconsin ("The Genuine American City") -Mil-e-wok-kay
Lafayette (Cajun Country), Louisiana ("The Heart of French Louisiana")
Baton Rouge, Louisiana ("The Cajun Capital")

Well, that was fun.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!