Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9-16-01 - 6:49 p.m.

I hate rental cars. They always have that hideous "new car smell" that I despise.

I don't know whether I mentioned it or not, so I'll quickly bring it back up: While I was at work last week, some moron scraped up against my car in the parking lot, scratched the passenger side from end-to-end, and smeared a pinkish-red paint streak all over the side. Did they leave me with any insurance/contact information? No. I took my car to get an estimate for having the side re-touched and was told that because the shade of teal it curently is is such a rare color (which I believe to be bullshit) and out-of-stock, it would be about the same cost to just get the whole thing re-painted in a new color. They apparently have to send off to Neptune for the teal color. I checked a few other places, and was given outrageous estimates (from $2500-$4000!) for both touch-ups and full-body paint jobs.

George says the problem is that my car is so old and fragile. She's 36. Still runs beautifully. She's not fragile... she's brave and true and gorgeous. I love my car and I WISH PEOPLE WOULD LEAVE IT THE #$%(@% ALONE!

(Isn't is strange that I'll swear like crazy in my diary, but that I censored it just then?)

Anyway, so I returned to the first paint place and after looking at paint chips and photos of similar cars (they dared compare my pony to an Impala!) I settled on "midnight blue" as a color choice.

It's gonna cost me about $2100. George offered to pay, but I said no. I want to manage my own finances. I can afford this. It'll be tight, but I can do it, so I'm gonna. I figure I'm helping our now-fragile economy this way. I'm doing it for the good of the nation, asking not what a paint job can do for me, but what but rather what a paint job can do for my country.

Bryan dyed his hair a light brown color and spiked it a little differently, and it looks amazing. He wants to highlight my hair in a very soft dull blonde color. It's highlighted in red right now. He also thinks I should get Bettie Paige (and I'm sure I spelled that wrong) bangs. No. I had bangs. I hate bangs. End of story.

This weekend has been very boring. Tomorrow I start working full-time and I'm not sure I want to. I'll be on my feet all day, having to deal with customers who think it's my fault that their food tastes bad. Did I order it? Did I cook it? No. I scribbled it down and placed it on the wheel, spun it so Carl the Cook could read it, and then asked you if you wanted a refill for your iced tea.

Public Service Announcement: Waitresses have to deal with many more of you than you of us. Please tip your waitress (or waiter) generously.

I've smoked three cigarettes today and am about to light up a fourth. I hardly ever smoke more than one or two per day, if at all. I'll stop at four.

Bryan said I have "extremely cute toes." Not just cute, extremely cute. Made my day, actually.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!