Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01-01-02 - 10:48 a.m.

Around four this morning, Bryan and Justin stumbled in. I, reading in my bed, bid them a happy new year without looking up. I really like the book I'm reading. Almost done, too. They went to their room without saying anything. I don't even think they realized I was there.

So this morning, Justin was helping me fix pancakes. He came up behind me as I stood watch over the griddle, lowered his voice, and said, "I don't even want to know what I said on your voicemail."

"You left me voicemail?"

"Oh, god."

I grinned. "This I gotta hear. Mike, you wanna hear a funny message?"

"NO!"

Mike giggled, but I don't think he knew what was going on. I ran to my bathroom, followed closely by Justin, found my cell phone on the counter where I'd placed it, and had to wrestle Justin for it. Even with my injured fingers (they're not broken, I've decided) I was strong enough to win. I held down the 1 key to dial my voicemail and entered my password. The electronic voice greeted me, saying I had "One. New. Mes-sage. Sent...Today. At? One. Thirt. Teen. A. M."

And then came Justin's extremely slurred voice:

"Hi, Laura, it's Justin. Yeah. I'm calling you from Denny's. Happy new year! Ooh, were getting kids' menus! Yay! This is Justin. Everyone...everyone, um, say 'hi' to Laura. (a chorus of reluctant hellos) Princess Laura? No, she's not a princess. She's...she lives in PB. I live with her. Bryan too. Because I live with Bryan. And the cat. Hey I wanna get a sundae! Hey, Laura? This is Justin. Happy new year! Your voicemail is great. Is that from The Family Guy? That's a cool show. 'For every sprinkle I find, I shall kill you!' Stewie, haha...This is Justin, by the way. Okay I have to go. Um, happy new year! (he sang this part, lyric from "Happy New Year" from RENT:) Five, four, three, open sesame! Happy new ye-e-ear! See ya later."

Took me a while to transpose that. Damn it was funny. What's funnier is that Justin normally doesn't drink at all. Bryan does, when the occasion allows, but Justin's what we like to call a "straght edge."

Nice to know someone had a good Eve.

How many times does a kid have to watch a movie before he's sick of it?! All weekend long, Mike has watched The Land Before Time. It's all he wants to watch. If I hear Cera the Triceratops scream about "Sharp Tooth" one more time, I swear I'm gonna lose it.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!