Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10-16-01 - 10:12 p.m.

It's Homecoming week at my old school and, in keeping with tradition, the class of 2002 plans to win the annual float-building contest. This is an event in which I participated every day, before I transferred and graduated. Each of the four classes is given donated wood and a budget of $100 to spend on paint and other assorted materials. The floats must coincide with the theme of the Homecoming dance�this year, it's "Jungle Paradise"�and all must in some way incorporate the school colors (brown and gold, ugh), the class color (yellow, red, blue, green, freshmen-seniors), and the class number itself. They have to be completed in four days and students are not allowed to enlist any adults in the process of float-building. Students can only work on them from 3-7 p.m. each day. It's up to the workers, then, to design and create the float out of mostly wood and particle board, which is a bitch to cut.

Kellie called me last night and asked if I could come by after school today to help them cut out wood. I'm all pro with the power tools, you see, being that I'm probably one of the few people in the class unafraid of big spinning blades that shoot sawdust and I have a fairly steady hand.

So I went, and when I arrived, I was attacked. Girls I hardly knew, along with old high school acquaintances, ran up to hug me and ask how I was doing. Most commented on how long my hair had grown and how much weight I'd lost. Haley and Rachel showed up late, still uniformed from their field hockey game. They lost.

As much fun as I had today ruining an old pair of jeans with paint and swallowing god knows how many pounds of sawdust, I'm sure as hell glad I'm not in high school anymore.

I had a biiiiiiiig fight with Rob last night. But I'm really tired right now and don't want to write about it yet. Things are better today. And they'll be better tomorrow, too. Which is why I want to be awake and energized.

About the title of this entry: It's from a movie. It popped into my head. It was somewhat fitting with the whole float-building thing. The end.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!