Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11-25-01 - 6:21 p.m.

It's over. Thanksgiving is finally done. My least favorite holiday was quadrupled this year and tomorrow I will wake up and not eat a single thing for the entire day. I've been trying to go easy as far as food intake is concerned this weekend, but damn...I'm rude if I don't eat at least two heaping servings of everything, no matter how rancid and disgusting the dish is. Stupid etiquette. It's so fuckin' stupid.

Here's something I wondered: Who decided, somewhere along the way, as eating utensils were being developed, that only certain foods were to be eaten with a fork or spoon? Why don't we eat, say, bread with a fork? Why is that acceptable as finger food, when something like, oh, I don't know, spaghetti isn't. I know people used to eat noodles with their fingers, along with everyone else. Eh, I don't know where this thought came from.

So tonight, my fourth and final Thanksgiving, was interesting.

I guess I should first mention that when I arrived at Leif's, he was thoroughly stoned. I let it be known I wasn't happy and asked if he had anything lit. Of course he did.

I don't know where he gets it, but Leif smokes some good marijuana.

I smothered him in cologne, myself in perfume, and, giggling, we made our way to the house, blasting 80s classics like "One Night In Bangkok." He told me I have a very cute, Britney Spears giggle. I was not aware of this until tonight. I feel enlightened.

Dinner was generally uneventful. We had stir fry. Rob was downstairs, but we didn't eat at the table so as to accomodate him. Instead, we all sprawled around him. Leif and I sat sort of outside the throng of family. Rob's parents and Scarlett were right by him, Kellie and Jared Carrie and Chad with Sharon, George, and Ricky nearby, Chad's parents talking mostly to Sharon and George...ugh, too many damn people. Rob's brothers and sister-in-law had their own discussion going, though about what, I have no idea.

As everyone finished up and plates were being carried to the kitchen, Rob called me over and sent Scarlett to the kitchen with his dishes. I told Leif I'd be gone only a second and marched over to Rob.

"So, you recognize me now that I'm with Leif, hmm?" I said.

"I was pretending," said Rob.

"Pretending to not recognize me? Why? Did you want to scare me?"

"Sort of. I know you're on drugs right now."

"Don't change the subject, why did you do that?"

"It was Kellie's idea."

I stammered something about breaking the rest of his ribs, grabbed Leif by the hand, and stormed out. Which was perhaps the least mature thing to do, but I was mad. I'm still mad.

I can't even think straight. Partially because I'm so damn pissed and partially because I'm so damn, well, pissed, but in the way of British slang.

And I've still got pneumonia. I feel like shit.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!