Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12-01-01 - 10:21 a.m.

Something that really pisses me off is when people (girls, usually) pretend to be bisexual because they think it'll make them "cool."

That's such a crock that I just want to throw a brick at every girl I know to be doing this.

You're not "cool" because you're bi! You're cool because you have such a unique personality that you find people trying to emulate you.

I know a girl who, though she swears she's bisexual, told Bryan and me in discussion of sexuality one night that she thought the idea of girls kissing girls was "icky."

But this is a girl who's "bi?"

I don't treat my gay/bi friends any differently than I treat my straight ones. Why should I?

When Justin first came out to me, I said, and I quote, "That's nice, could you pass the salt?" as we were out to dinner with our fellow RENTers. Later on I clarified my indifference by telling him what I believe, which is this:

Personality is in no way defined by sexuality. Sexuality can neither limit nor define the actions and perceptions of a human being. A gay person is only "different" from those who are straight, just exactly the same way a straight person is "different" from a gay one. I refuse to enjoy the company of someone whose personality I don't like just because he or she is homosexual. There are some homosexual people I can't stand. (Justin's ex, for example, who is a pompous windbag.) On the same token, I refuse to brag about my gay friends because they're gay. I believe giving my gay and bi friends any kind of unique treatment in any way is to disservice them.

I don't pretend to be bisexual. I am heterosexual and that's all there is to it. I will admit that I know a sexy woman when I see one, and yes I have fooled around with other girls on more than one occasion. But that doesn't make me "cool." It doesn't make me "uncool." It doesn't change who or what I am in any way at all.

Ugh. Posers. I mean, who the hell freakin' cares what you are?!

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!