Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03-23-02 - 11:11 p.m.

Alone in the office tonight, I was typing up some lawyer crap, when the phone rang. It was after-hours and I wasn't expecting anyone to show up or call. But, stranger things have happened, so I picked up.

"I need a lawyer," said the man on the line. His voice was deep and scratchy with a thick German-sounding accent.

Instinctively I reached for a pen and memo pad and informed him of our office hours, offering instead to take down his name and number and have Adam or one of his associates call him.

"My name is Herbert Schmeckelbocker."

I wrote down the first name and then S-c-h-m before asking him to spell it for me.

He did.

"And your number?"

"571..."

"Okay...?"

"12718."

"Alri�hey wait a second. That's too many numbers, Sir."

"Oh, sorry."

"That's perfectly okay. I understand. We all make mistakes. Can I have you repeat that?"

"571-12718."

"Sir, that's the same thing. Still too many numbers. Is part of that your area code?"

"No, my area code is ___." (He gave it, but it's the same as mine and hell no way am I giving that out here.)

"Well, Sir, you're going to have to take away one of the digits because right now, it's not a legit phone number."

"My number is 571-12718!"

Then I heard laughter in the background.

"Who is this?!"

"My name is Herbert Schmeckelbocker. My phone number is 571-12718!"

Suddenly I recognized the background laugh and the voice itself as it very briefly faltered, giving way to half a second's giggle.

"Rob?!"

Uncontrolled laughter now.

"Oh my god you guys SUCK!" And I hung up. Later, he and Chad (the guy in the background) came by to visit me. I avoided looking at Rob as much as possible. He didn't apologize to me. He just was acting like he and I were buddy-buddy with each other, that he hadn't freaked out and made me feel cheap and trashy and not good enough for him. But oh well. Actually, it was a pretty funny prank. The voice he did was great. He's such a funny guy...such a funny, funny guy.

Asshole.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!