Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7-30-01 - 3:44 p.m.

First off-I got an email from someone whom I will be calling Random Moron (Randy) telling me what a great poet I am. Have I ever posted any of my poetry in my diary? No. "Jerk of All Jerks" is a poem by Sir Paul McCartney, of Beatles and Wings (etc.) fame, from his book of songs and poems entitled, Blackbird Singing. It's an excellent read, and I just love McCartney, so...but anyway, if you click "previous" and pay close attention, you'll see that I've given the man his credit, as I've done with lyrics I've posted here.

Maybe this mistake of Randy's wouldn't bother me so much if it had been the first time. But no-actually just a couple of weeks ago I had the lyrics to "Wonderwall" by Oasis on my website. I received an email telling me to write "more beautiful poetry" like it. Do these people honestly think "by Artist's Name" is part of the poem/song? Geeze.

Enough of that.

Poking through Virgincherry's diary, I came across the entry where she had updated a previous list of "weird things about [her]" and I thought that it was a cool idea for a diary entry. Thus, I've stolen it. Sorry about that, Kayla-they say imitation is the highest form of flattery. Also I'm terribly unoriginal. :)

So here is my list of lesser-known (to some people) things about me:

1. I wear a size six in shoes and have to buy in-soles for every pair I buy because my ankles are so narrow that they slide and blister when I walk.

2. My eyes are blue but sometimes look brown or green.

3. My biological mother is African-American and my biological father was white, so I'm a mutt.

4. I graduated number one in my class, was Valedictorian, and declined to speak at the ceremony.

5. I am a National Merit Scholar.

6. My ending GPA in high school was 4.47

7. I was selected for Girls' State but did not attend.

8. I applied to 25 universities and was accepted to 24.

9. Since fifth grade, I was elected either president or VP in ASB every year until 11th grade.

10. I played varsity field hockey from freshman year until 11th grade.

11. I skipped the second semester of 11th grade and switched schools to get into an accelerated program so I could graduate early.

12. My biological mother's maiden name is Wilson.

13. I am deathly afraid of spiders.

14. I received roughly 30 different academic awards and made honor roll from sixth grade until I graduated.

15. I played soccer and lacrosse in high school, but never made varsity for either one.

16. I never bought a letterman jacket.

17. In eighth grade I stood up for my friend and had my jaw cracked for doing so-I was jumped.

18. I am completely and utterly nonviolent. I didn't fight back when I was jumped.

19. I had to have my jaw operated on after #17 and have been able to unhinge it ever since-yes, like a snake.

20. I have a crooked smile.

21. I hate the smells of vanilla and baby powder.

22. My best subject is English, but I'm good at math, too.

23. I have fractured the following bones: my left shin (currently broken), my left ankle, my left heel (cracked), two of the toes on my left foot, and my right index finger.

24. I'm left-handed but can write clearly with my right hand, though I don't consider myself ambidextrous.

25. When I was 13 I had a short story published in a local literary magazine.

26. I can't draw to save my life.

27. I have near-perfect vision and very rarely wear the glasses I have.

28. My eyes are intensely sensitive and dry. I have to put artificial tears in them every day.

29. I am the only person I have ever known to have an ulcer in my eye-one of the most painful experiences of my life.

30. I've had pneumonia four times, bronchitis twice, and missed six months of school after catching a severe case of mononucleosis.

31. My immune system sucks.

32. I sucked my thumb until I was in third grade, though mostly when I was alone.

33. To this day, I have trouble tying my shoes, and therefore almost always wear sandals or buckled shoes.

34. I taught myself to French braid my own hair when I was five, and to fishtail when I was seven.

35. I always drive at least five miles over the speed limit.

36. Music is the most important form of multimedia in my life.

37. I'm an atheist, but I went to Sunday school every week for eleven years and prayed every night.

38. I love music videos but generally hate MTV.

39. Carson Daly annoys me to no end.

40. So does Anime anything.

41. Sanrio stuff, too.

42. And Willa Ford.

43. I love to perform and will leap at any chance to dance or sing (or both) in front of any crowd.

44. I honestly don't fear death.

45. I've seriously attempted suicide thrice, but have considered it many more than that.

46. I'm 5'3".

47. I love learning new dance routines and teaching them to people.

48. I can't decide which is better, Backstreet Boys or N Sync. I see N Sync as the more "dance-y" type of pop, whereas BSB has prettier melodies and better vocals and Brian Littrell.

49. As everyone knows, I'm completely obsessed with everything Britney Spears.

50. I don't mind Christina Aguilera.

51. I can back-flip with ease, but can't cartwheel.

52. I'm really flexible-yes, I can do both forms of "The Splits."

53. I have a handwritten list of over 45 pages, doublesided, chronicling my pet peeves.

54. I'm really sarcastic in conversation with my friends.

55. Most people miss my sarcasm and mistake my facetious remarks for bitchiness.

56. I abhor Macy Gray.

57. Grammatical errors and journalistic boo-boos (in newspapers/magazines, etc.) really grate on my nerves.

58. The clothes in my closet are arranged by color and clothing type (casual-formal).

59. I own nearly 200 CDs in one giant CD flipper.

60. My CDs are arranged alphabetically by genre, then artist's first name, then in order of album release date.

61. I love clipping my toenails.

62. I don't really mind most chores and in fact rather enjoy dusting, window-washing, and cleaning tile grout.

63. I hate ironing.

64. Every time I've ever been to my dentist's office, I've heard "Father Figure" by George Michael or "You Are Not Alone" by Michael Jackson.

65. I give great massages.

66. I have read the Kama Sutra.

67. Buddhist teachings and philosophies fascinate me.

68. The only type of music I absolutely will refuse to listen to, no matter what, is country. I don't just hate the vocals, I despise the way the guitars sound, that whammy bar thing.

69. I only use unscented deodorant.

70. It is my opinion that Eeyore is the greatest literary and later Disney character ever created.

71. Polar bears are my favorite animals, and I collect Coca Cola bear stuffed animals...though you'd never get me to admit it outloud. :)

72. My speaking voice is, to use Emode.com's phrasing, "cute and perky," though lower than most might think.

73. I'm allergic to Nair hair removal cream.

74. My top two favorite songs are "Losing My Religion" by R.E.M. and "Wonderwall" by Oasis.

75. I am the only person in my immediate biological family who hasn't dislocated a bone. (Brother-shoulder, mom-elbow, dad-thumb.) This disturbs me, as I was the only one without glasses.

76. The only beef I'll eat is found in Taco Bell and In-N-Out food.

77. I'm a terribly picky eater and order my cheeseburgers plain and my tacos without lettuce.

78. Short skirts (above the knee) make up about 70% of my below-the-belt wardrobe.

79. Three of my friends and I were on MTV when they invaded our beloved Mission Beach, and I looked like an idiot on national television. Good times.

80. I have nearly 15 hours of Britney Spears on VHS tapes-music videos, TV appearances, Fox concerts, SNL, etc.

81. I love ketchup and soy sauce, but hate mustard and wasabi.

82. Buffalo chicken strips are amazing.

83. I normally wear long-sleeved shirts.

84. In elementary and middle school, I made it a point to be a horrible bitch to a girl I knew and attempt to ruin her life-last year I apologized (late, I know) and we're acquaintances now.

85. My middle name is Elise.

86. I took piano lessons for four years and played clarinet, trumpet, and violin for random months.

87. I wrote a song in eighth grade and performed it at my eighth grade promotion ceremony.

88. I have nine unnatural holes in my body (piercings): two in each ear lobe, one in my left ear cartilage, one in my tongue, one in my belly button, one in each nipple.

89. I have a tiny tattoo on the small of my back and am considering getting a second one on my hip.

90. I bought my sister Kellie the most expensive birthday gift I've ever bought for anyone before...hehe.

91. I generally eat no more than two meals per day.

92. I never leave the house without at least a small bit of makeup on.

93. I was not accepted to Stanford University. :D

That's about it, really. If I think up anything else interesting, I'll add it-later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!