Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-08-08 - 11:42 a.m.

I was just flipping through a Good Housekeeping magazine at the grocery store (in an attempt to look sophistocated and older than I am) and something in it disturbed me. Muchly.

Apparently, there's this new kit you can buy for making a plaster mold of your pregnant belly. What you do is, at your baby shower, you undress and have a friend cover you in the plaster, wait a while, and then you can decorate it. They had a picture of one, and it reaffirmed my anti-children beliefs. Someone had painted a baby's face as the center of a sunflower.

Now, I'm sorry if this offends anyone, but what kind of sick, perverse person would have this as part of their baby shower activities lineup? Making plaster face masks at a child's birthday is one thing, but a pregnancy mold (the thing covered the woman's breasts down to just shy of her crotch) is just sick.

Also, who thinks up these ideas?! What moronic (probably very rich by now) person sat around eating Turtles and watching taped episodes of Guiding Light one day and suddenly proclaimed, "A pregnancy mold! This will change everything!" And then, what company bought the idea? Lastly, what woman in her right mind would want to have this as a decoration?! I was under the impression that most women tried to forget about their pregnant appearance. Guess not. I can't imagine growing up and having to see that kind of thing over the mantle every day, either. That would terrify me!

Ewwww...

So, now that I have Actual Groceries, I think I'll cook tonight. Ah, who am I kidding? Rob will be here, and we'll be too collectively lazy to do anything but call KFC for delivery.

Today, as far as music goes, I've been into boy bands, trying to see if I still know any of the moves. I only wonder because my friend wants me to help her choreograph an Airband routine, and since everyone (including me) does something trendy boyband/Britney for their song, I figured I might as well be prepared. My leg's feeling pretty good today. Still a little stiff, but not awful like it was Sunday.

OH! Before I forget--remember my fakie wannabe stalker? I was right. It was Alison. She came by to drop off another one, and Rob and I chased her down (well, not really...but it sounds exciting) and she told us she thought it was funny. Yah...kinda like shooting off your kneecaps. Really hysterical. Bah. She was stoned out of her mind anyway. Seems she hasn't changed.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!